Skip to content

Reference Advisory Group

Our multi-disciplinary advisors group are highly regarded in and outside of South Africa and are long-standing experts in their respective fields. Drawing on their expertise in law, public health, economics, scientific advancement, policy development, activism and community engagement, the inaugural advisors will guide the HJI on its governance, strategic focus areas and partnership models.  


Our Reference Advisory Group

Dr Francois Venter (Ezintsha, WITS), Phumi Mtetwa (JASS Southern Africa), Dr Francois Bonnici (Schwab Foundation), Phumeza Mlungwana (IBP-SA), Dr Els Torreele, Leslie London’(UCT), Noncedo Madubedube (Equal Education), Dr Shuaib Manjra (UCT School of Public Health), and Associate Professor Tracey Naledi (UCT Faculty of Health Sciences).

Doctor Shuaib Manjra-min

Doctor Shuaib Manjra

Medical Doctor, Senior Honorary Lecturer: UCT School of Public Health

Noncedo Madubedube-min

Noncedo Madubedube

General Secretary, Equal Education


Professor Leslie London

Chair of Public Health Medicine in the UCT School of Public Health

Professor Francois Venter-min

Professor Francois Venter


Phumi Mtetwa-min

Phumi Mtetwa

Regional Co-Director: JASS Southern Africa

Phumeza Mlungwana-min

Phumeza Mlungwana

Senior Programme Officer: IBP-SA


Associate Professor Tracey Naledi

Deputy Dean: UCT Faculty of
Health Sciences

Doctor Els Torreele-min

Doctor Els Torreele

Medical Innovation and Access Activist

Doctor François Bonnici-min

Doctor François Bonnici

Director: Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship